School of Arts and Sciences

Dean: Linda Vaden-Goad, Ph.D.
vaden-goadl@wcsu.edu

Associate Dean: Katy Wiss, Ph.D.

wissk@wcsu.edu

Administrative Assistant: Maureen Alviti
alvitim@wcsu.edu

Secretary: Lisa Taylor-Defalco
taylordefalcol@wcsu.edu

Warner Hall 300, Midtown campus
(203) 837-9401
(203) 837-8525 (fax)

 

Academic Advisement Center

Interim Director of Advising:

   Isabel Carvalho

   Carvalhoi@wcsu.edu

   (203) 837-8411

   HI 214

Assistant Directors of Advising:

   Dianne Olsen

   olsend@wcsu.edu

   (203) 837-8827

   Lisa Peck

   Peckl@wcsu.edu

   (203) 837-8564

Higgins Hall 214B

(203) 837-8289 FAX

                      

Departments:

Biology & Environmental Sciences
Chair: Howard Russock, Ph.D.
Science Building 140, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8798
(203) 837-8769 (fax)

Chemistry
Chair: Paula Secondo, Ph.D.
secondop@wcsu.edu
Science Building 323, Midtown campus
(203) 837- 8440
(203) 837- 8769 (fax)

Communication
Chair: William Petkanas, Ph.D.
petkanasw@wcsu.edu
Berkshire Hall 213c, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8254
(203) 837-8912 (fax)

Computer Science
Chair: Rona Gurkewitz, M.S.
gurkewitz@wcsu.edu
HI 018K, Midtown/WS 109, Westside
(203) 837-9362/837-9354
(203) 837-8527 (fax)

English
Chair: Peter Lyons, Ph.D.
lyonsp@wcsu.edu
Berkshire Hall 215, Midtown campus
(203) 837-9040
(203) 837- 8912 (fax)

History
Chair: Abubaker Saad, Ph.D.
saada@wcsu.edu
Warner Hall 219, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8480
(203) 837-8905 (fax)

Mathematics
Chair: Josephine Hamer, Ph.D.
hamerj@wcsu.edu
Higgins Hall 019, Midtown campus
(203) 837-9347
(203) 837-8769 (fax)

Philosophy
Chair: James Munz, Ph.D.
munzj@wcsu.edu
White Hall 021b, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8782
(203) 837-8526 (fax)

Physics, Astronomy & Meteorology
Chair: Alice Chance, Ph.D.
chancea@wcsu.edu
Science Building 178, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8667
(203) 837- 8320 (fax)

Psychology
Chair: Nicholas Gallucci, Ph.D.
galluccin@wcsu.edu
Warner Hall 316, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8472
(203) 837-8905 (fax)

Social Sciences
Chair: Laurie Weinstein, Ph.D.
weinsteinl@wcsu.edu
Warner Hall 211, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8453
(203) 837-8905 (fax)

World Languages & Literature
Chair: Stacey Alba D. Skar, Ph.D.
Berkshire Hall 224, Midtown campus
(203) 837-8734
(203) 837-8912 (fax)

Mission and Objectives

The School of Arts and Sciences offers 38 major programs and options leading to the bachelor’s degree. Fields of concentration include American studies,astronomy, biology, chemistry, communication, computer science, economics, English, history, mathematics, meteorology, medical technology, political science, professional writing, psychology, sociology/ anthropology, and Spanish. An associate’s degree in the liberal arts is available. Minor programs in every department allow students to follow interests beyond their major, including such interdisciplinary fields as journalism, women’s studies, international studies, multi-cultural studies, and urban studies. The School offers pre-professional programs in a number of fields, including medicine, dentistry, and law.

The School of Arts and Sciences has a three-fold mission:

  • Provide a strong general education for all students at the university and academic support for students in professional programs;
  • Provide bachelor’s and master’s programs of high quality for students who seek a degree in the arts and sciences;
  • Provide lifelong learning opportunities for nontraditional students seeking new knowledge and career skills.

The School of Arts and Sciences plays a central role in the education of every student at the university. It serves students of diverse interests and needs from many different segments of the community. The arts and sciences faculty believe that teaching is an art. Their highest priority is to help students learn.

Undergraduate Degree Programs

Associate in Science

A.S.-Liberal Arts

 

Bachelor of Arts

BA- American Studies

BA-Anthropology/Sociology
Option: Applied Studies

BA-Biology
Options: Biology
Bioscience
Ecological Science

BA-Chemistry
Options: Biochemistry–ACS Approval
Biochemistry
Biotechnology

BA-Communication
Options:
Communication
Media Arts
Communication and Human Relations

BA-Computer Science

BA-Contract Major

BA-Earth and Planetary Sciences
Option: Astronomy

BA-Economics
Option: Applied Studies

BA-English, American, and Comparative Literature

BA-English-Professional Writing
Options: Business Writing
Creative Writing
General Writing
Journalism & Freelance
Public Relations

BA-History

BA-Mathematics
Option: Mathematics and Computer Science

BA-Political Science

BA-Psychology

BA-Social Sciences
Options: Anthropology/Sociology Studies
Family Studies
Global Studies
Multicultural Studies

BA-Spanish

 

Bachelor of Science

BS-Contract Major

BS-Medical Technology (Biology)

BS-Meteorology

 

The School of Arts and Sciences supports the bachelor of science (BS), elementary and secondary education, through course content in the following areas:

Elementary Education Secondary Education
American Studies Biology
Anthropology/Sociology Chemistry
Biology Earth Science
Communications English-Teaching of Literature
English-Comparative Literature English-Teaching of Writing
English-Writing Option History/Social Studies
History/Social Studies Mathematics
Mathematics Social Sciences/History
Political Science Spanish
Psychology  
Social Science  
Spanish  

See School of Professional Studies for more information on education.

Admissions

Please refer to the department area in this catalog for specific admission procedures and requirements, or contact the Office of University Admissions at (203) 837-9000.


Related Links: