Connecticut state university system

Central Connecticut State University - New Britain
Southern Connecticut State University - New Haven
Eastern Connecticut State University - Willimantic
Western Connecticut State University - Danbury

The Connecticut State University System reaches throughout the State with major campuses in four metropolitan centers: Central Connecticut State University in New Britain, Eastern Connecticut State University in Willimantic, Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, and Western Connecticut State University in Danbury, and it enrolls over 36,000 students.

The origins of the Connecticut State University System date back to 1849 with the founding of a school for teachers in New Britain. During their distinguished history, the campuses have evolved from normal schools to teachers’ colleges to multipurpose state colleges and, finally, to universities. Today, after 150 years of growth and development, the four campuses of the Connecticut State University System are thoroughly diversified institutions. Among their alumni are physicians, teachers, lawyers, dentists, nurses, clergy, business people, journalists, scholars, librarians, artists, and a host of other professionals. The graduates of the campuses of the Connecticut State University System contribute to all aspects of Connecticut economic, social, and cultural life.

The governance of the Connecticut State University System is the responsibility of an eighteen-member Board of Trustees. Fourteen of the Trustees are appointed by the Governor, and four are students elected to the Board by their classmates. The Chancellor of the Connecticut State University System is responsible for the administration of the system. Each campus is given a considerable measure of autonomy and functions under the leadership of a president.


Lawrence D. McHugh, Chairperson Middletown
Karl J. Krapek, Vice Chairperson Avon
Theresa J. Eberhard-Asch, Secretary Danbury
Richard J. Balducci Deep River
John A. Doyle Barkhamsted
Elizabeth Gagne Hartford
Angelo J. Messina Farmington

John H. Motley Burlington
L. David Panciera Hartford
Ronald J. Pugliese Naugatuck

Peter Rosa New Britain
John R. Sholtis, Jr. Marlborough
Rev. John P. Sullivan New Haven
Gail H. Williams Danbury
Andrew Russo CCSU
Brian Patrick Sullivan ECSU
Christopher L. Ambrosio SCSU
Fernando Franco WCSU


William J. Cibes, Jr. Chancellor
Yvette Melendez Thiesfield Chief Administrative Officer
Estela Lopez Vice Chancellor
Pamela Kedderis Chief Finance Officer
David Johnson Executive Officer for Human Resources
TBA Chief Information Officer

Connecticut State University System Office
39 Woodland Street • Hartford, Connecticut 06105-2337

Related Links: