School of Arts and Sciences

Interim Dean: Abbey Zink, Ph.D.
   zinka@wcsu.edu

Interim Assistant Dean: Paul Hines, Ph.D.
   hinesp@wcsu.edu

Secretary: Lisa Taylor-DeFalco
     Warner Hall 300, Midtown campus
     taylorl@wcsu.edu
     (203) 837-9402
     (203) 837-8525 (fax)

Departments:

Biology & Environmental Sciences
Chair: Thomas Lonergan, Ph.D.
    lonergant@wcsu.edu
    Science Building 201, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-9894
    (203) 837-8769 (fax)

Chemistry
Co-Chair: Yuan Mei-Ratliff, Ph.D.
    meiratliffy@wcsu.edu
    Science Building 310, Midtown campus
    (203) 837- 8443
    (203) 837- 8769 (fax)
Co-Chair: Russell Selzer, Ph.D.
   
selzerr@wcsu.edu
    Science Building 334, Midtown Campus
    (203) 837-8448
    (203) 837-8769 (fax)

Communication
Chair: Katy Wiss, Ph.D.
    wissk@wcsu.edu
    Berkshire Hall 213a, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8260
    (203) 837-8912 (fax)

Computer Science
Chair: William Joel, Ph.D.
    joelw@wcsu.edu
    Westside Classroom Building 110
    (203) 837-9353
    (203) 837-8527 (fax)

English
Chair: Michael Chappell, Ph.D.
    chappellm@wcsu.edu
    Berkshire Hall 210d, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-9366
    (203) 837- 8912 (fax)

History
Co-Chair: Wynn Gadkar-Wilcox, Ph.D.
    wilcoxw@wcsu.edu
    Warner Hall 218, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8565
    (203) 837-8905 (fax)
Co-Chair: Joshua Rosenthal, Ph.D.
     rosenthalj@wcsu.edu
    Warner Hall 216, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8449
    (203) 837-8905 (fax)

Mathematics
Chair: David Burns, Ph.D.
    burnsd@wcsu.edu
    Higgins Hall 102f, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-9346
    (203) 837-8769 (fax)

Philosophy
Chair: James Munz, Ph.D.
   munzj@wcsu.edu
   White Hall 021b, Midtown campus
   (203) 837-8782
   (203) 837-8526 (fax)

Physics, Astronomy & Meteorology
Chair: Alice Chance, Ph.D.
   chancea@wcsu.edu
   Science Building 178, Midtown campus
   (203) 837-8667
   (203) 837- 8320 (fax)
Associate Chair: Dennis Dawson, Ph.D.
   dawsond@wcsu.edu
   Science Building 278, Midtown Campus
   (203) 837-8671
   (203) 837-8320 (fax)

Psychology
Chair: Norine Jalbert, Ph.D.
   jalbertn@wcsu.edu
   Warner Hall 314, Midtown campus
   (203) 837-8476
   (203) 837-8905 (fax)

Social Sciences
Chair: Steven Ward, Ph.D.
   wards@wcsu.edu
    Warner Hall 205, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8459
    (203) 837-8905 (fax)
Associate Chair: Averell Manes, Ph.D.
     manesa@wcsu.edu
    Warner Hall 203, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8452
    (203) 837-8905 (fax)

World Languages & Literature
Chair: Galina Bakhtiarova, Ph.D.

    skars@wcsu.edu
    Berkshire Hall 215d, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8734
    (203) 837-8912 (fax)

Writing, Linguistics and the Creative Process
Chair: Oscar De Los Santos, Ph.D.
    delossantoso@wcsu.edu
    Higgins 205d, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-9044
    (203) 837-8912 (fax)

Mission and Objectives

The School of Arts and Sciences offers 38 major programs and options leading to the bachelor’s degree. Fields of concentration include American studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, communication, computer science, economics, English, history, mathematics, meteorology, medical technology, political science, professional writing, psychology, sociology/ anthropology, and Spanish. An associate’s degree in the liberal arts is available. Minor programs in every department allow students to follow interests beyond their major, including such interdisciplinary fields as journalism, women’s studies, international studies, multi-cultural studies, religion studies and urban studies. The School offers pre-professional programs in a number of fields, including medicine, dentistry, and law.

The School of Arts and Sciences has a three-fold mission:
• Provide a strong general education for all students at the university and academic support for students in professional programs;
• Provide bachelor’s and master’s programs of high quality for students who seek a degree in  the arts and sciences;
• Provide lifelong learning opportunities for
nontraditional students seeking new knowledge and career skills.

The School of Arts and Sciences plays a central role in the education of every student at the university. It serves students of diverse interests and needs from many different segments of the community. The arts and sciences faculty believe that teaching is an art. Their highest priority is to help students learn.

Undergraduate Degree Programs

Associate in Science

A.S.-Liberal Arts

Bachelor of Arts

BA- American Studies

B.A.-Anthropology/Sociology
    Option:
    Applied Studies

BA-Biology
    Options:
    Biology
    Bioscience
    Ecological Science

BA-Chemistry
    Options:
    Biochemistry–ACS Approval
    Biochemistry
    Biotechnology

B.A.-Communication
     Options:
     Communication Studies
     Relational Communication

B.A.-Computer Science
B.A.-Contract Major
B.A.-Earth and Planetary Sciences

    Option:
    Astronomy

B.A.-Economics
    Option:
    Applied Studies

B.A.-English
B.A.-History
B.A.-Mathematics

    Option:
    Computer Science

B.A.-Media Arts
    Options:
    Media Production
    Media Studies

B.A.-Political Science
B.A.-Professional Writing

    Options:
    Business Writing
    Creative Writing
    General Writing
    Journalism & Freelance
    Public Relations

B.A.-Psychology
B.A.-Social Sciences

    Options:
    Anthropology/Sociology Studies
    Family Studies
    Global Studies
    Multicultural Studies

B.A.-Spanish

 

Bachelor of Science

BS-Contract Major

BS-Medical Technology (Biology)

BS-Meteorology

 

The School of Arts and Sciences supports the bachelor of science (BS), elementary and secondary education, through course content in the following areas:

Elementary Education Secondary Education
American Studies Biology
Anthropology/Sociology Chemistry
Biology Earth Science
Communications English-Teaching of Literature
English-Comparative Literature English-Teaching of Writing
English-Writing Option History/Social Studies
History/Social Studies Mathematics
Mathematics Social Sciences/History
Political Science Spanish
Psychology  
Social Science  
Spanish  

See School of Professional Studies for more information on education.

Admissions

Please refer to the department area in this catalog for specific admission procedures and requirements, or contact the Office of University Admissions at (203) 837-9000.


Related Links: