School of Arts and Sciences

Dean: Missy Alexander, Ph.D.
Warner Hall 300, Midtown Campus
alexanderm@wcsu.edu
(203) 837-9400
(203) 837-8525 (fax)

Assistant Dean: Cigdem Usekes, Ph.D.
Warner Hall 300, Midtown Campus
usekesc@wcsu.edu
(203) 837-9406
(203) 837-8525 (fax)

Administrative Assistant: Martha Palanzo
Warner Hall 300, Midtown Campus
palanzom@wcsu.edu
(203) 837-9401
(203) 837-8525 (fax)

Secretary: Bob Albert
Warner Hall 300, Midtown campus
albertb@wcsu.edu
(203) 837-9402
(203) 837-8525 (fax)

Departments:

Biology & Environmental Sciences
Chair: Stephen Wagener, Ph.D.
    wageners@wcsu.edu
    Science Building 145, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8790
    (203) 837-8769 (fax)

Chemistry
Chair: Russell Selzer, Ph.D.
    selzerr@wcsu.edu
    Science Building 310, Midtown campus
    (203) 837- 8443
    (203) 837- 8769 (fax)
Associate Chair: Paula Secondo, Ph.D.
   
secondop@wcsu.edu
    Science Building 339, Midtown Campus
    (203) 837-8795
    (203) 837-8769 (fax)

Communication
Chair: Katy Wiss, Ph.D.
    wissk@wcsu.edu
    Berkshire Hall 213a, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8260
    (203) 837-8912 (fax)

Computer Science
Chair: Gancho Ganchev, Ph.D.
    ganchevg@wcsu.edu
    Westside Classroom Building 114
    (203) 837-9349
    (203) 837-8527 (fax)

Associate Chair: Rona Gurkewitz, M. A., M. S., M. Phil.
    gurkewitzr@wcsu.edu
    Westside Classroom Building 109
    (203) 837-9354
    (203) 837-8527 (fax)

English
Chair: Michael Chappell, Ph.D.
    chappellm@wcsu.edu
    Berkshire Hall 210d, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-9366
    (203) 837- 8912 (fax)

History
Chair: Burton Peretti, Ph.D.
    perettib@wcsu.edu
    Warner Hall 221, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8309
    (203) 837-8905 (fax)

Mathematics
Chair: David Burns, Ph.D.
    burnsd@wcsu.edu
    Higgins Hall 102f, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-9346
    (203) 837-8769 (fax)

Philosophy
Chair: Stuart Dalton, Ph.D.
    daltons@wcsu.edu
    White Hall 021b, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8782
    (203) 837-8905 (fax)

Physics, Astronomy & Meteorology
Chair: Dennis Dawson, Ph.D.
   dawsond@wcsu.edu
   Science Building 278, Midtown campus
   (203) 837-8671
   (203) 837-8320 (fax)
Associate Chair:  Robert Eisenson, M.S.
   
eisensonr@wcsu.edu 
   Science Building 277, Midtown campus 
   (203) 837-8989
   (203) 837-8320 (fax) 

Psychology
Chair: Norine Jalbert, Ph.D.
   jalbertn@wcsu.edu
   Warner Hall 314, Midtown campus
   (203) 837-8476
   (203) 837-8905 (fax)

Social Sciences
Chair: Oluwole Owoye, Ph.D.
   owoyeo@wcsu.edu
   Warner Hall 204, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8456
    (203) 837-8905 (fax)
Associate Chair: Averell Manes, Ph.D.
    manesa@wcsu.edu
    Warner Hall 203, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8452
    (203) 837-8905 (fax)

World Languages & Literature
Chair: Stacey Alba D. Skar, Ph.D.
    bakhtiarovag@wcsu.edu
    Berkshire Hall 215A, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-8485
    (203) 837-8912 (fax)

Writing, Linguistics and the Creative Process
Chair: Oscar De Los Santos, Ph.D.
    delossantoso@wcsu.edu
    Higgins 205d, Midtown campus
    (203) 837-9044
    (203) 837-8912 (fax)

Mission and Objectives

The School of Arts and Sciences offers 38 major programs and options leading to the bachelor’s degree. Fields of concentration include American studies, biology, chemistry, communication, computer science, economics, earth and planetary sciences, English, history, mathematics, meteorology, political science, professional writing, psychology, sociology/ anthropology, and Spanish. An associate’s degree in the liberal arts is available. Minor programs allow students to follow interests beyond their major, including such interdisciplinary fields as broadcast journalism, digital media, women’s studies, international studies, multi-cultural studies, religion studies and urban studies. The School offers pre-professional programs in a number of fields, including medicine, dentistry, and law.

The School of Arts and Sciences has a three-fold mission:
• Provide a strong general education for all students at the university and academic support for students in professional programs;
• Provide bachelor’s and master’s programs of high quality for students who seek a degree in  the arts and sciences;
• Provide lifelong learning opportunities for nontraditional students seeking new knowledge and career skills.

The School of Arts and Sciences plays a central role in the education of every student at the university. It serves students of diverse interests and needs from many different segments of the community. The arts and sciences faculty believe that teaching is an art. Their highest priority is to help students learn.

Undergraduate Degree Programs

Associate in Science

A.S.-Liberal Arts

Bachelor of Arts

BA- American Studies

B.A.-Anthropology/Sociology
    Option:
    Applied Studies

BA-Biology
    Options:
    Biology
    Bioscience
    Ecological Science

BA-Chemistry
    Options:
    Biochemistry–ACS Approval
    Biochemistry
    Biotechnology

B.A.-Communication
     Options:
     Communication Studies
     Relational Communication

B.A.-Computer Science

B.A.-Contract Major

B.A.-Earth and Planetary Sciences

 
B.A.-Economics
    Option:
    Applied Studies

B.A.-English

B.A.-History

B.A.-Mathematics

    Option:
    Computer Science

B.A.-Media Arts
    Options:
    Media Production
    Media Studies

B.A.-Political Science

B.A.-Professional Writing
    Options:
    Business Writing
    Creative Writing
    General Writing
    Journalism & Freelance
    Public Relations

B.A.-Psychology

B.A.-Social Sciences
    Options:
    Anthropology/Sociology Studies
    Family Studies
    Global Studies
    Multicultural Studies

B.A.-Spanish

Bachelor of Science

B.S.-Contract Major

B.S.-Meteorology

 

The School of Arts and Sciences supports the bachelor of science (BS), elementary and secondary education, through course content in the following areas:

Elementary Education Secondary Education
American Studies Biology
Anthropology/Sociology Chemistry
Biology Earth Science
Communication English
English History
History Mathematics
Mathematics Social Sciences
Political Science Spanish
Psychology  
Social Sciences  
Spanish  

See School of Professional Studies for more information on the Education degree programs.

Admissions

Please refer to the department area in this catalog for specific admission procedures and requirements, or contact the Office of University Admissions at (203) 837-9000.

WCSU Weather Information

Current Conditions in Danbury


Fair
Current Conditions

55.1° F
Feels like N/A°

Wind: 7MPH from the S
Humidity: N/A%
Pressure: 30 in.
Dew Point: N/A° F


Emergency / Weather Alert Information

The Emergency / Weather Alert will be posted on the WCSU home page any time an emergency or bad weather causes a delay, cancellation or early closing of the university.

Weather Alert Example

 Visit the Emergency / Weather Alert page

Greater Danbury 5-Day Forecast

Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Slight chance for a morning shower, partly sunny and pleasant.
Partly sunny and pleasant.
Mostly cloudy, chance for some showers.
Chance for morning rain then some afternoon sunshine.
Mostly sunny and mild.
36° / 59° 34° / 56° 36° / 43° 39° / 54° 33° / 54°