Theatre Arts

Areas of Study

Program Features

  • Professional Resident Faculty
  • Edinburgh Fringe Festival Participation
  • Yearly New York City Showcase, "WCSU Off-Broadway"
  • Children's Theatre and Community Outreach Programs
  • Workshops with N.Y. Stage, TV and Film Professionals
  • Internships possible with New York City and Connecticut Regional and Professional theatres.
SPOTLIGHT ON ...

New Visual and Performing Arts Center

The new facility, expected to be complete in 2014 will house a 350-seat theater, a 150-seat black box theater, a 350-seat concert hall, an art gallery, a recording studio and state-of-the-art rehearsal, classroom and studio art facilities.

[read more]

Upcoming Productions 2014 - 2015

Buy Tickets


Thanks for all the supporters who made our season so successful.

Fall 2014…

Oct. 15 (Wed.)  7pm Twelfth Night, Studio Theatre, Student Opening
Oct. 16 (Thur.) 7pm Twelfth Night, Studio Theatre, High School Night
Oct. 17 (Fri.)  8pm Twelfth Night, Studio Theatre, Official Opening
Oct. 18 (Sat.)   2pm and 8pm Twelfth Night, Studio Theatre
Oct. 19 (Sun.)  2pm Twelfth Night, Studio Theatre
Oct 24 (Fri.) 8pm Twelfth Night, Studio Theatre
Oct. 25 (Sat) 8pm Twelfth Night, Studio Theatre, Homecoming
Oct. 26 (Sun) 2pm Twelfth Night, Studio Theatre
Nov. 12 (Wed.) 7 pm Little Women, Mainstage, Student Opening
Nov. 13 (Thur) 7 pm Little Women, Mainstage, High School Night
Nov. 14 (Fri) 8pm Little Women, Mainstage, Gala Opening
Nov. 15 (Sat) 2pm and 8pm Little Women, Mainstage
Nov. 16 (Sun) 2pm Little Women, Mainstage
Nov. 21 (Fri) 8pm Little Women, Mainstage
Nov. 22 (Sat) 2pm and 8pm Little Women, Mainstage
Dec. 4 (Thur.) 10:30 Little Women, Mainstage
Dec. 5 (Fri.) 10:30 Little Women, Mainstage
Dec. 10 (Wed.) 7:30 pm Group A Student Directed 10 minute plays, Studio Theatre
Dec. 11 (Thur.)   7:30 pm Group B Student Directed 10 minute plays, Studio Theatre
Dec. 12 (Fri.)   7 and 9pm Final performance of Student Directed 10 minute plays, Studio Theatre

 

Spring 2015…

January 10 and 11 (Sat. Sun.) WIG sponsored UCB 8 hour workshop
Jan. 27 – Feb. 1 KCACTF Festival, Cape Cod
Mar. 4 (Wed.) 7pm, Can’t Take It With You, Mainstage, Student Opening
Mar. 5 (Thurs.) 7pm, Can’t Take It With You, Mainstage, High School Night
Mar. 6 (Fri.) 8pm, Can’t Take It With You, Mainstage, Gala Opening
Mar. 7 (Sat.) 8pm, Can’t Take It With You, Mainstage
March 8 (Sun.) 2pm, Can’t Take It With You, Mainstage
March 13 (Fri.) 8pm, Can’t Take It With You, Mainstage
March 14 (Sat.) 2pm, Can’t Take It With You, Mainstage
March 14 (Sat.) 8pm, Can’t Take It With You, Mainstage
March 15 (Sun.) 2pm, Can’t Take It With You, Mainstage
March 19 (Thur.) 8pm Senior Portfolio Presentations, Studio Theatre
April 6 (Mon.) Senior Agents Showcase, 3pm and 6:30pm, NYC
April 10 (Fri.) 8pm, Opera Performance, Mainstage [Music Department]
April 11 (Sat.) 8pm, Opera Performances Mainstage [Music Department]
April 12 (Sun.) 2pm, Opera Performance Mainstage (strike after the show) [Music Department]
April 15 (Wed.) 7pm Student Preview for Smokey Joe’s Cafe, Studio Theatre
April 16 (Thur.) 7pm Smokey Joe’s Cafe, Studio Theatre, High School Night
April 17 (Fri.) 8pm Smokey Joe’s Cafe, Studio Theatre, Opening
April 18 (Sat.) 8pm Smokey Joe’s Cafe, Studio Theatre
April 19 (Sun.) 2pm Smokey Joe’s Cafe, Studio Theatre
April 24 (Mon.) 8pm Smokey Joe’s Cafe, Studio Theatre
April 25 (Tues.) 2pm and 8pm Smokey Joe’s Cafe, Studio Theatre
April 26 (Wed.) 2pm Smokey Joe’s Café
April 30 (Thurs.) 10:30am Children’s Show, Mainstage , School Matinee
May 1 (Fri.) 3pm Children’s Show, Mainstage
May 2 (Sat.) 7:30 pm, Children’s show, Mainstage
May 3 (Sun.) 3pm, Children’s Show, Mainstage
May 4 (Mon.) 8pm, Play Production Class Presentation, Studio Theatre
May 11 – 16 NY Show, TBG Theatre

 

TICKET PRICES

Twelfth Night ---- General Admission $20, Seniors and Non-WCSU students $15, Faculty and Staff $10.

Little Women (musical) --- General Admission $25, Seniors and Non-WCSU students $15, Faculty and Staff $15, School Matinee Group Price $7.00


Tickets:  203 837-TIXX
wcsu.edu/tickets

 

Directions to Berkshire Theatre:
The theatre entrace is located on Osborne Street
Click here for the Campus Map

 

Your tax deductible donations support our programs that benefit our wonderful students.

WCSU Weather Information

Current Conditions in Danbury


Fair
Current Conditions

55.1° F
Feels like N/A°

Wind: 7MPH from the S
Humidity: N/A%
Pressure: 30 in.
Dew Point: N/A° F


Emergency / Weather Alert Information

The Emergency / Weather Alert will be posted on the WCSU home page any time an emergency or bad weather causes a delay, cancellation or early closing of the university.

Weather Alert Example

 Visit the Emergency / Weather Alert page

Greater Danbury 5-Day Forecast

Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Slight chance for a morning shower, partly sunny and pleasant.
Partly sunny and pleasant.
Mostly cloudy, chance for some showers.
Chance for morning rain then some afternoon sunshine.
Mostly sunny and mild.
36° / 59° 34° / 56° 36° / 43° 39° / 54° 33° / 54°