MFA

Master of Fine Arts Thesis Exhibition 2021

2021 Thesis Exhibitions

The Gallery at the Visual & Performing Arts Center

April 5 - April 22 School of Visual & Performing Arts, 2nd Floor 43 Lake Avenue Extension Danbury, CT wcsu.edu/art/gallery/exhibitions

Blue Mountain Gallery

June 22–July 10
547 West 27 Street, Suite 200
New York, NY
Hours: Wed–Sat, noon–6pm
Supported by the Jason and Ellen Hancock
Student Endowment Fund

The School of Visual and Performing Arts at Western Connecticut State University is pleased to announce its candidates for the 2021 Master of Fine Arts degree.

Ryan Ames

Alison Booth

David Flook

Rachel Rossier

Kathleen Spezzano

Jennifer Sullivan

The MFA Thesis Exhibition is the summation of two years of intensive, creative study and extensive interaction with resident faculty and visiting artists.







Hindsight Series

Top: Forestall (för-'stöl) $v \mid$ acrylic on canvas | 40 x 30 in.

Above: Retrospect (re-tra-,spekt) $n \mid$ acrylic on canvas | 40 x 30 in.

Opposite: Hindsight (hin(d)-sīt) $n \mid$ acrylic on canvas | 60 x 48 in.



















Top: Wrath of Poseidon | acrylic and inks on board | 30×24 in. Above: What Lurks Below | acrylic and inks on board | 24×18 in. Opposite: The Banshee | acrylic and inks on board | 24×18 in.

Kathleen Spezzano Master of Fine Arts, Illustration Bachelor of Science, Equine Studies | Post University





Jennifer Sullivan Master of Fine Arts, Interdisciplinary Visual Art Bachelor of Arts, Art History | University of Saint Joseph

MFA Program Faculty

Catherine Vanaria, Chair, Department of Art MA, Savannah College of Art & Design MFA. Art Institute of Boston

Darby Cardonsky, MFA Coordinator MA, Hunter College

Kira Albinsky PhD, Rutgers University

Riley Brewster MFA, Yale University

Leslie Cober-Gentry MFA, University of Hartford

Sabrina Marques MFA, Yale University

Clintel Steed MFA, Indiana University

Jack Tom MFA, University of Hartford

Emeritus Resident Faculty Abe Echevarria Margaret Grimes

Visiting Artists and Lecturers

2000-2019

Daniel Adel

Adele Alsop

Eric Aho *

Barbara Grossman

James Gurney

Richard Haas *

Nancy Hagin

Emma Amos * Steven Harvey * Julie Heffernan * Vincent Arcilesi John Arthur Mark Hess William Bailev * N. Charkow-Hollander Robert Berlind * Eric Holzman Jake Berthot * Fritz Horstman Robert Birmelin Yvonne Jacquette * Gideon Bok Elisa Jensen Matt Bollinger David Johnson Roger Boyce Victor Juhasz Wolf Kahn Steve Brodner Tom Burckhardt Ava Kakeda Chris Buzelli Roger Kastel Charles Cajori Ken Kewley Paul Calle Tom Kidd Marcos Chin Don Kimes Joan Chiverton Jon Krause Susanna Coffey * Stanley Lewis * David Cohen Edward Little Raul Colón Lynette Lombard Kinuko Craft Mathew Lopas Robert Crawford Sharon Louden Bob Crofut Dennis Lyall John Cuneo Fred Mason Amy Cutler James McGarrell Fielding Dawson Ruth Miller * Janet DeCarlo John Moore * Vincent Desiderio Howard Munz Grace Devito Matt Murphy Ray DiCapua Graham Nickson * Lois Dodd ** Adam Niklewicz Bruce Dorfman Tim O'Brien Daniel Dos Santos Hugh O'Donnell Hilary Doyle R. Andrew Parker Fritz Drury Charles Parness Randall Enos Jim Peters Constance Evans Stephanie Pierce Alan Feltus Jerry Pinkney Janet Fish * Anna Poor L. Everett-Fisher Kelly Popoff Audrev Flack * Walt Reed Andrew Forge * Kenny Rivero * Connie Fox * Edel Rodriguez Stephanie Franks Joseph Salerno Jennifer Samet * Betsy Garand Brenda Garand Zina Saunders Charlie Gehm Bill Schmidt Shelia Geoffrion T. Lanigan-Schmidt * Robert Giusti Amber Scoon Judy Glantzman Heather Scott Glenn Goldberg Susan Shatter Jane Goodall Yuko Shimizu John Goodrich Elena Sisto James Grashow Paul Smith

Nancy Stahl Kyle Staver Clintel Steed Amy Smith-Stewart Bill Sullivan Altoon Sultan Andrea Sulzer Lvnn Sweat Bill Thomson Cathleen Toelke Lee Tribe Selina Trieff * Ed Tuttle Audrey Ushenko Victoria Vebell Eric Velasquez Raymond Verdaguer John Wallace Susan Jane Walp * James Warhola Ellen Weinstein Michael Whelan Judy York Deborah Zlotsky 2019-2021

Scott Bakal Guy Billout David Brinley Nina Buxenbaum Jackie Decker Angela Dufresne Michael Garland Rudy Gutierrez Ellen Harvey Richard Klein Ying Li Ross MacDonald Christopher Manning AJ Masthay Beverly Mclyer

Jenny Lynn McNutt

Laini Nemett *

Jon Sideriadis

Grier Torrence

Andrea Wisnewski

* Weir Farm Art Alliance co-sponsored lecture Norman Green

Margaret Grimes *

Gene Sparkman

Don Spaulding

Student Contact

Ryan Ames

Email: ryanamesillustration@gmail.com Website: amesillustration.com Instagram: @amesart

Alison Booth

Email: alisonmarcellabooth@gmail.com Instagram: @alisonbooth_studio

David Flook Email: daveflookart@gmail.com Website: daveflookart.com Instagram: @dave_flook_art

Rachel Rossier Email: rachelrossierart@gmail.com Instagram: @rachelrossierart

Kathleen Spezzano Email: Kalenyadesigns@gmail.com Instagram: @kalenyadesigns Facebook: Kathleen Spezzano Illustration

Jennifer Sullivan Email: designedbyjennct@gmail.com Instagram: @designedby_jenn For more information about the exhibitions or the MFA program, call (203) 837-8403 or visit wcsu.edu/art/graduate

