Office of Diversity and Equity

Diversity Resources and Information

Diversity Calendar

The purpose of this calendar is to address and support the diversity of all University employees. We recognize that by increasing our understanding of diverse cultures, traditions, values and beliefs we can enhance our relationships with one another, and become a culturally responsive environment for everyone to feel valued and respected.

University 2018 Diversity Calendar (DOC)

How Dates Were Chosen

Due to the extensive number of cultural holidays, dates for this calendar were determined by the following five criteria:

  1. Will an employee be absent as a result of this day?
  2. Will an employee be disengaged as a result of this day? (e.g., hunger or a negative association with a particular day/date such as a day of remembrance of a tragic event)
  3. Will an employee not be able to participate in a work-related function as a result of this day? (e.g., Employees may not participate in Halloween or Valentine’s Day).
  4. Are there employees who may not participate in events that are scheduled on the day of an important religious day observed by certain communities?
  5. Does the day provide an opportunity for a teachable moment regarding ethnic or cultural diversity that might not otherwise be discussed, particularly those dates associated with a continued history of oppression, discrimination, or racism?

Work in Progress

We ask for your patience in the event that we have missed any important dates that meet the criteria. If you know of another date that meets the above criteria and should be included or if there is a date listed that does not meet the criteria and should not be included, please contact the Office of Diversity and Equity at (203) 837-8278.  We welcome your input. If you know of additional resources, please let us know. Conversely, please inform us of any websites that we may have chosen to explain a particular day, which may be culturally insensitive

Best practices for using this calendar as a tool

  • Celebrate heritage or history months or other cultural days with speakers, displays, and special foods.
  • Keep these dates in mind when scheduling classes, work, deadlines, meetings, and events.
  • Give consideration that a scheduled event might exclude individuals or unintentionally force them to participate in certain events.

 

Office of Intercultural Affairs

The Office of Intercultural Affairs coordinates programs, support services, and activities for various student clubs/associations that enhance the educational experience of a diverse student population.

Please contact Mr. Daryle Dennis, Assistant Dean at (203) 837-8549 for more information.

 

Multicultural/Minority Scholarships and Grants

Every year, the Office of Diversity and Equity updates the available information to everyone about the list of scholarships and grants available.

Scholarship/
Grant No.
Name: Web Link:
1. Ron Brown Scholar Program https://www.ronbrown.org/
2. Harry S. Truman Scholarships https://www.truman.gov/
3. Hispanic Scholarship Fund https://www.hsf.net/
4. Jackie Robinson Foundation Scholarships http://www.jackierobinson.org/
5. RMHC U.S. Scholarships https://www.rmhc.org/rmhc-us-scholarships
6. Academy for Educational Development Fellowships http://www.aednational.tcu.edu/scholarships.asp
7. American Institute of CPAs Scholarship for Minority Accounting Students http://www.aicpa.org/Career/DiversityInitiatives/Pages/smas.aspx
8. ASM Undergraduate Research Fellowship https://www.asm.org/index.php/professionaldevelopment/students/25-education/students/7827-asm-undergraduate-research-fellowship-asm-urf
9. The Roothbert Fund http://www.roothbertfund.org/scholarshipsprogram.php
10. Coca Cola Scholarships http://www.coca-colascholarsfoundation.org/
11. State Farms Hispanic Scholarships https://www.statefarm.com/about-us/community/education-programs/grants-scholarships/partner-grants/
12. McNair Scholars Program http://mcnair.web.unc.edu/
13. National Institutes of Health Undergraduate Scholarship Program https://www.training.nih.gov/programs/ugsp
14. Catching the Dream Scholarship Program http://catchingthedream.org/
15. NCAA Ethnic Minority and Women’s Enhancement Graduate Scholarship http://www.ncaa.org/ethnic-minority-and-women-s-enhancement-graduate-scholarship
16. Leonard M. Perryman Communications Scholarship http://www.umcom.org/about/leonard-m-perryman-scholarship
17. Intel Science Talent Search https://student.societyforscience.org/regeneron-sts
18. Discover Student Loans Scholarship Award https://www.discover.com/student-loans/scholarships/award.html?acmpgn=OSLSPX010
19. Jennings Randolph Peace Scholarship Dissertation Program https://www.usip.org/grants-fellowships/fellowships/jennings-randolph-peace-scholarship-dissertation-program
20. APA Scholarships and Grants http://www.apa.org/about/awards/index.aspx
21. Americorps Funding Opportunities https://www.nationalservice.gov/build-your-capacity/grants/funding-opportunities
22. American Sociological Association Minority Fellowship Program http://www.asanet.org/career-center/grants-and-fellowships/minority-fellowship-program
23. Thurgood Marshall Scholarship Fund http://tmcf.org/
24. Dell Scholars Program https://www.dellscholars.org/
25. Blacks at Microsoft Scholarships http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/diversity/programs/blacks-scholarships.aspx
26. The Herbert Lehman Education Fund Scholarships http://www.naacpldf.org/herbert-lehman-education-fund-scholarship
27. INROADS Internships https://inroads.org/
28. Horatio Alger Scholarships https://scholars.horatioalger.org/
29. Jackie Kent Cooke Foundation Scholarship http://www.jkcf.org/scholarship-programs/college-scholarship/
30. DoSomething Scholarships https://www.dosomething.org/us/about/easy-scholarships
31. Proofreading, LLC Scholarship Program https://www.proof-reading.com/proof-reading_scholarship_program.asp
32. P.L.A.Y. scholarships https://www.petplay.com/scholarship/
33. Kim and Harold Louie Scholarship http://www.louiefamilyfoundation.org/scholarship-application
34. CANFIT Scholarships http://canfit.org/scholarships/
35. The Surety Foundation Minority Intern and Scholarship Program http://www.thesuretyfoundation.org/minority-internship-scholarship
36. Smithsonian Minority Awards Program-Internship http://www.thesuretyfoundation.org/minority-internship-scholarship
37. Dr. Juan Andrade Scholarship for Young Hispanic Leaders https://www.unigo.com/scholarships/all/dr–juan-andrade-scholarship-for-young-hispanic-leaders/1004012
38. ALA Spectrum Scholarships http://www.ala.org/aboutala/offices/diversity/spectrum/scholarshipinformation
39. LaGrant Foundation Undergraduate Scholarship https://www.lagrantfoundation.org/Undergraduate%20Scholarships
40. NACA Foundation Scholarships https://www.naca.org/Foundation/Pages/Scholarships.aspx
41. Scholarship America https://scholarshipamerica.org/what-we-do/students-parents/open-scholarships/
42. AXA Achievement Community Award https://us.axa.com/axa-foundation/community-scholarships.html
43. Ronald Reagan Foundation Scholarship Programs https://www.reaganfoundation.org/education/scholarship-programs/
44. Buick Achievers Scholarship Program https://buickachievers.com/
45. Ford Blue Oval Scholars Scholarships https://www.fordblueovalnetwork.org/scholarships

 

These websites are subject to change without our knowledge, so please report broken or non-functioning links to the University Office of Diversity and Equity at (203) 837-8278.

 

Peer to Peer Mentor Program (Coming Soon)

The Multicultural Office coordinates a peer mentor initiative, based on recruiting current Western Connecticut State University students every semester, who can help other new and/or transfer students navigate the University system and connect with campus resources. Peer Mentors build meaningful relationships with students through peer-to-peer guidance and support.

Please contact Mr. Daryle Dennis, Assistant Dean at (203) 837-8549 for more information.