Student Expenses                              

As part of the Connecticut State System of Higher Education, Western Connecticut State University offers a high-quality education program at low cost. Details of the expenses follow: 

Application Fee: All new graduate students pay $50 when filing an application for admission to the Division of Graduate Studies. There is an additional $100 evaluation fee for doctoral candidates. 

Tuition and Fees Per Semester (All rates subject to change)

The Division of Graduate Studies does not guarantee that full-time study is possible each semester for all programs. Please check with the appropriate graduate program coordinator to obtain accurate information. Note: Teacher certification students pay tuition on a per-credit basis. 

Part-Time Doctoral Students ––
In-state –– $665 per semester hour; Out-of-state –– $674 per semester hour includes:
  

  In-state Out-of-state
Tuition $458 per semester hour $467 per semester hour
General fee $207 per semester hour $207 per semester hour
Additional fees:    
Student Activity fee $3 per semester hour (fall/spring terms only) $3 per semester hour (fall/spring terms only)
Registration fee $55 per semester (non-refundable) $55 per semester (non-refundable)

Part-Time Master’s Students –– (less than 9 SH per semester)
In-state –– $445 per semester hour; Out-of-state –– $451 per semester hour includes:

  In-state  Out-of-state
Tuition $296 per semester hour $302 per semester hour
General fee $149 per semester hour $149 per semester hour
Additional fees:    
Student Activity fee $3 per semester hour (fall/spring terms only) $3 per semester hour (fall/spring terms only)
Registration fee $55 per semester (non-refundable) $55 per semester (non-refundable)

Full-Time In-State Connecticut Residents, Master’s Programs (9 semester hours per semester)

State University Fee $500
Tuition* $2,668.50
General Student Fee $1,507.50
Student Activity Fee $70
Mandatory Health Ins. $679 (estimate, actual rate not yet available)
Total $5,425 per semester

* Master of Fine Arts (painting, illustration) tuition: $3,390.50

Full-Time Out-of-State Residents, Master’s Programs (9 semester hours per semester)

State University Fee $1,225.50
Tuition* $7,434.50
General Student Fee $1,507.50
Student Activity Fee $70
Mandatory Health Ins. $679 (estimate, actual rate not yet available)
Total $10,916 per semester

 * Master of Fine Arts (painting, illustration) Tuition: $8,841.50

M.F.A. Professional Writing Program –– (less than 9 semester hours per semester)     

In-state – $505 per semester hour; Out-of-state – $512per semester hour includes:

  In-state Out-of-state
Tuition $343 $350
General Student Fee $162 $162
Additional fees:    
Student Activity Fee $3 per credit hour (fall/spring terms only) $3 per credit hour (fall/spring terms only)
Registration Fee $55 per term (non-refundable) $55 per term (non-refundable)

Auditing a Class

Students who wish to audit a class pay the same tuition as those who are taking the course for credit. You may register on-line, in-person or through the mail.

Refund Policy for Part-Time Students applies to fall and spring semesters, also winter and summer sessions courses that are eight weeks or longer.

Tuition refunds for part-time students will be issued on the following basis:

Withdrawal through the first week of classes 100% refund
Withdrawal through the second week of classes 60% refund
Withdrawal through the third and fourth week of classes 40% refund

No refunds will be issued after the fourth week of classes. The registration fee is non-refundable except when the university cancels a course.

Tuition and Fees Refund Policy for Full-Time Students (Fall and spring semesters)

For students who are not Title IV recipients: non-refundable fees include the application fee, admissions binder and housing deposit.

To be eligible for a refund, a full-time student must formally withdraw from the university.

A refund of the tuition, university and student activity fees, excluding the application fee and deposit, will be issued in accordance with the schedule below. The amount of the refund will be determined on the basis of the official date of withdrawal:

Up to and including the first day of classes 100% refund
Withdrawal through the first week of classes 90% refund
Withdrawal through the second week of classes 60% refund
Withdrawal through the third and fourth week of classes 40% refund

No refunds will be issued after the fourth week of classes. The registration fee is non-refundable except when the university cancels a course. These refund figures assume charges have been paid in full; if not, students who withdraw may actually owe a balance to WCSU.

Refund Policy for courses three to eight weeks in length applies to fall and spring semesters, also winter and summer session courses.

Tuition refunds for these classes will be issued on the following basis:

Withdrawal prior to the second class meeting 100% refund
Withdrawal prior to the third class meeting 60% refund
Withdrawal prior to the fourth class meeting 40% refund

No refunds will be issued after the fourth class meeting begins. The registration fee is non-refundable except when the university cancels a course.

Refund Policy for courses less than three weeks in length applies to fall and spring semesters, also winter and summer session courses.

Tuition refunds for these classes will be issued on the following basis:

Withdrawal prior to the second class meeting 100% refund
Withdrawal prior to the third class meeting 60% refund

No refunds will be issued after the third class meeting begins. The registration fee is non-refundable except when the university cancels a course.

Board Fee Refund

This fee is refundable, upon withdrawal from the university, on a prorated basis. Full weeks will be used to prorate.

Procedures for Students Receiving Assistance under Title IV

Both full-time and part-time students who formally withdraw from the university and who are recipients of the Title IV funds should contact the Financial Aid Office to see if they are entitled to a pro-rated refund.

Fees for Online CSU

Course fees per credit hour (part-time, intersession, summer)

Graduate In-State $458 per credit hour

Includes:

Tuition $296 per semester hour
General Student Fee $162 per semester hour
Graduate Out-of-State $489 per credit hour

Includes:

Tuition $302 per semester hour
General Student Fee $187 per semester hour
 
Additional fee:
Online Registration Fee $50 per course, non-refundable
All online courses (full- or part-time, in- or out-of-state resident) pay a $50 online registration fee for each registered online course. 
'

WCSU Weather Information

Current Conditions in Danbury


Fair
Current Conditions

55.1° F
Feels like N/A°

Wind: 7MPH from the S
Humidity: N/A%
Pressure: 30 in.
Dew Point: N/A° F


Emergency / Weather Alert Information

The Emergency / Weather Alert will be posted on the WCSU home page any time an emergency or bad weather causes a delay, cancellation or early closing of the university.

Weather Alert Example

 Visit the Emergency / Weather Alert page

Greater Danbury 5-Day Forecast

Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Slight chance for a morning shower, partly sunny and pleasant.
Partly sunny and pleasant.
Mostly cloudy, chance for some showers.
Chance for morning rain then some afternoon sunshine.
Mostly sunny and mild.
36° / 59° 34° / 56° 36° / 43° 39° / 54° 33° / 54°