Academics

Office of the Provost

Dr. Missy AlexanderDr. Missy Alexander, Provost & V.P. of Academic Affairs

 

What is a Provost?

The Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost is the chief academic administrator at Western Connecticut State University and responsible for all aspects of the academic mission—from recruitment of students to the administration of the schools and other units that are central to the academic enterprise.  The Provost collaborates with the President in setting academic priorities and provides leadership for the school and college deans and their faculties.

 

Read a Welcome from Dr. Missy Alexander, Provost & V.P. of Academic Affairs


Academic Deans

Dr. Michelle Brown

Dr. Michelle Brown, Dean 
Macricostas School of Arts and Sciences
brownml@wcsu.educreate new email
Phone: (203) 837-9400
Warner Hall, Room 300

Dr. Missy Alexander

Mr. Brian Vernon, Dean 
School of Visual and Performing Arts
vernonb@wcsu.educreate new email
Phone: (203) 837-8851
Visual and Performing Arts Center, Room 104A

Dr. Joan Palladino

Dr. Joan Palladino, Interim Dean
School of Professional Studies & Ancell School of Business
(203) 837-9500
palladinoj@wcsu.educreate new email
White Hall, Room 123

Department Chairs

 

Macricostas School of Arts and Sciences

Biology 

Dr. Theodora Pinou, chair
pinout@​wcsu.educreate new email
(203)837-8793

Chemistry

Dr. Russell Selzer, chair
selzerr@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8448

Dr. Paula Secondo, associate chair
secondop@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8795

Communication & Media Arts

Dr. Katie Lever-Mazzuto, chair
leverk@​wcsu.edu
(203) 837-8872

Dr. William Petkanas, associate chair
petkanasw@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8255

Computer Science

Dr. Daniel Coffman, chair
coffmand@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8746

Dr. Gancho Ganchev, associate chair
ganchevg@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-9349

History & World Perspectives

Dr. Wynn Gadkar-Wilcox, co-chair
WilcoxW@​wcsu.eduaym@wcsu.educreate new email
(203)837-8565

Dr. Joshua Rosenthal, co-chair
rosenthalj@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8449

Mathematics

Dr. Michael Shoushani, chair
shoushanim@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8745

Dr. Stavros Christofi, associate chair
christofis@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-9351

Philosophy & Humanistic Studies

Dr. Çiğdem Usekes, co-chair
usekesc@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-3282

Dr. Anna Maria Malavisi, co-chair
malavisia@​wcsu.edu
(203) 837-3271

Physics, Astronomy & Meteorology

Albert Owino, chair
owinoa@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8

Robert Eisenson, associate chair
eisensonr@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8989

Psychology

Dr. Patricia O’Neill, chair
oneillp@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-9383

Dr. Daniel Barrett, associate chair
barrettd@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8869

Social Sciences

Dr. Carina Bandhauer, chair
BandhauerC@​wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8650

Dr. Christine Hegel-Cantarella, associate chair
hegelcantarellac@​wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-3914

World Languages & Cultures

Dr. Stacey Alba Hawkins, chair
hawkinsa@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8485

Writing and Literature

Dr. Kelli Custer, chair
custerk@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-3941

Dr. Shouhua Qi, assoc. chair
qis@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-9048

 

Ancell School of Business

Accounting

Dr. Michele W. Ganon, chair
ganonm@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8742

Finance

Dr. Annie Wong, chair
wonga@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8577 

Division of Justice & Law Administration

Dr. Kim Marino, chair
marinok@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-3973

Management

Dr. Stanley Bazan, chair
Bazans@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-9238

Management Information Systems

Dr. Richard Montague, chair
Montaguer@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-9343

Marketing

Dr. Ronald Drozdenko, chair
drozdenkor@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8776

 

School of Professional Studies

Education & Educational Psychology

Dr. Katherine Roe, chair
roek@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-3263

Health Promotion and Exercise Science

Dr. Emily Stevens, chair
Stevense@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-3903

Ms. Krista Heybruck, associate chair
heybruckk@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-3903

Nursing

Dr. Jeanette Lupinacci, chair
lupinaccij@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8570

Social Work

Dr. Karen McLean, chair
brownk@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8937

 

School of Visual and Performing Arts

Art

Ken Scaglia, chair
Scagliak@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-3975

Music

Dr. Laurel Larsen, chair
larsonl@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8353

Jamie Begian, associate chair
BegianJ@​wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-8637

Theatre Arts

Dr. Justin Cowan, chair
cowanj@​wcsu.edu
(203) 837-8476

Joni Johns-Lerner, associate chair
lernerj@wcsu.educreate new email
(203) 837-3984