Sigma Xi

The Rudy Ruggles Interdisciplinary Research Award Winners

Dear All,

It’s with great pleasure that I announce Dr. Entao Yang of Airliquide and Dr. Ge Zhang of the City University of Hong Kong, the recipients of the 2023 WCSU Sigma Xi Chapter Rudy Ruggles Interdisciplinary Research Award for their interdisciplinary project entitled “Understanding Neural Network Generalizability from the Perspective of Entropy.”  Our chapter received a number of outstanding applications with many creative ideas from throughout our Northeast Region, and I want to thank the award committee for all their hard work in developing an evaluation process and selecting a recipient, as well as providing valuable feedback to all applicants.  Dr Yang and Dr. Zhang will be presenting the results of their project at a Spring 2024 Chapter Meeting, and we are excited to learn about their success.  

Looking forward to seeing everyone in the fall!


Theodora Pinou (Outgoing WCSU Chapter President)

Dr. Ge Zhang
City University of Hong Kong
Dr. Entao Yang