Welcome to WCSU’s Virtual Campus. Our buildings are closed to the public through May, but we are working. Please follow this link for the most recent updates about admissions, registration, and online learning. (COVID-19 Coronavirus Updates)

Macricostas School of Arts & Sciences

Math Department

Faculty

 

Department Chair – Stavros Christofi
christofis@wcsu.edu
HI 101N
(203) 837-9351
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. Brown University 1995

Numerical Solution of Partial Differential Equations, Scientific Computing, Finite Difference Methods, ENO-WENO schemes, Actuarial Science, Industrial Mathematics, and the teaching of Applied Mathematics

David Burns
burnsd@wcsu.edu
HI 101A
(203) 837-9346
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. North Dakota State University, 1993
Geometry, Dynamical Systems, Mathematics Education

Becky Hall
hallb@wcsu.edu
HI 101G
(203)837-9363
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Assistant Dean, Macricostas School of Arts and Sciences
Ph.D. Wesleyan University
Algebra, Mathematics Education

Senan Hayes
hayess@wcsu.edu
HI 101F
(203)837-3917
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D., Teachers College,Columbia University
Mathematics Education

Sam Lightwood
lightwoods@wcsu.edu
HI 101J
(203) 837-9369
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. University of Maryland – College Park, 1998
Symbolic Dynamics, Tilings, Ergodic Theory

Amanda Lubell
lubella@wcsu.edu
HI 101C
(203) 837-9364
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. University of Maryland – College Park, 1997
Logic, Algebra, Role of Mathematics in General Education.

Paula Maida
maidap@wcsu.edu
HI 101E
(203) 837-9361
Ph.D. American University,
Professor of Mathematics
Mathematics Education

Lydia S. Novozhilova, Ph.D.
novozhiloval@wcsu.edu
HI 101H
(203) 837-9348
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. Rostov State University, Russia
Ph.D. Michigan State University
Calculus of Variations, Applied Mathematics in Mechanics, Symbolic Computations in Mathematics Education

Charles Rocca
roccac@wcsu.edu
HI 101D
(203) 837-9360
Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. SUNY Albany, 2001
Combinatorial Group Theory, Number Theory, History of Mathematics, Technology in Math Education

Michael Shoushani
shoushanim@wcsu.edu
HI 101K
203-837-8745
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. University of Delaware, 2014
Numerical methods for PDEs, boundary value problems, teaching applied mathematics

Todd Trimble
trimblet@wcsu.edu
HI 101B
(203) 837-9372
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. Rutgers University
Categorical Algebra, Logic, History of Mathematics

Xiaodi Wang
wangx@wcsu.edu
HI 101L
(203) 837-9355
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Ph.D. Michigan State
Numerical Ordinary and Partial Differential Equations, Harmonic Analysis, Problem Solving, Mathematical Finance