Macricostas School of Arts & Sciences

English Department

Meet the Faculty of the Department of English

Full-Time Faculty

Donald P. Gagnon
Ph.D., University of South Florida
MA in English Coordinator, American Studies Coordinator
Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 223

Office Hours Fall 2017: M: 8-9 a.m., VPA 237; 1-2:30 p.m., BR 223; T: 3-5 p.m., BR 223; W: 8-9 a.m., VPA 237; 3-4:30 p.m., BR 223

Phone: 203-837-9062
Email: gagnond@wcsu.edu


Michael J. Chappell
Ph. D., Fordham University

Associate Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 210D

Office Hours Fall 2017: M/W 8-10:30; T 10-10:30

Phone: 203-837-9366
Email: chappellm@wcsu.edu


Anam K. Govardhan
Ph.D., Madras University, India.,
Ph.D., Northern Illinois University.
Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 210A

Office Hours Fall 2017: M/W: 8:30 to 10:45 a.m.; T:4:55 to 5:25 p.m.

Phone: 203-837-9247
Email: govardhana@wcsu.edu


Heather Levy
Ph.D., Binghamton University

Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 212D

Office Hours Fall 2017: T/R: 10:30 am to 10:50 am and 12:05 -1:40 pm; W: 9:30am to 10:30am

Phone: 203-837-3272
Email: levyh@wcsu.edu


Margaret P. Murray
Ph. D., New York University

Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 212B

Office Hours Fall 2017: M,W: 8-9:25 a.m.; M: 12-1; 4:20-5:20; T:10-10:30 and by appt.

Phone: 203-837-9120
Email: murraym@wcsu.edu


Ingrid Pruss
Ph. D., Vanderbilt University

Associate Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 225

Office Hours Fall 2017: T/R: 7:15-8:00am; T: 1:45-2:30pm; W 7:15-9:30am; R: 1:45-2:15pm

Phone: 203-837-9071
Email: prussi@wcsu.edu


Shouhua Qi
Ph. D., Illinois State University
Department Chairperson
Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 210F

Office Hours Fall 2017: T/R: 9:00am-10:30am, 12:30pm-1:00pm; W: 11:00am-12:00pm; and by appointment

Phone: 203-837-9048
Email: qis@wcsu.edu
Website: http://people.wcsu.edu/qis/


Çiğdem Üsekes
Ph. D., University of North Dakota
Associate Dean of Arts & Sciences
Professor of English

Office: Berkshire Hall Rm. 210E

Office Hours Fall 2017: M/T 12:00-1:30 pm, W 3:00-5:00 pm & by appointment

Phone: 203-837-9329
Email: usekesc@wcsu.edu


Emeritus

Margaret Judith (Judy) Sullivan
M.A., St. John’s University
Professor of English Emeritus

Email: sullivanm@wcsu.edu
Medieval literature; Chaucer; Shakespeare; children’s literature; drama; African American literature; African literature.


Secretary

Ms. Laurel Richards

Office: Higgins Hall Rm. 205

Phone: 203-837-9041
Email: richardsl@wcsu.edu