Learn More about Reopening WCSU

Office of Judicial Affairs

The Student Judicial Advocate Program

 

The Student Judicial Advocate Program offers students the opportunity to participate in a leadership role while gaining a greater understanding of the disciplinary and judicial process at Western Connecticut State University.

The Judicial Advocate Program exists to support all students at Western Connecticut State University who encounter the judicial process, whether that is through incidents in the residence halls, classrooms, or anywhere else on campus.

Judicial Advocates act as a valuable support for a student accused of violating the Student Code of Conduct. When requested, Judicial Advocates may help to explain judicial hearing notices, judicial outcome notices, and/or the entire disciplinary process. Judicial Advocates may also accompany the accused student at a University Judicial Hearing as a support person. Additionally, Judicial Advocates may assist university members who are victims of sexual assault in explaining the disciplinary process, and may accompany victims to University Judicial Hearings as well.

Furthermore, Judicial Advocates can also be influential in helping students avoid additional disciplinary sanctions by counseling them on how to avoid situations that would again put them into violation of the Student Code of Conduct. They can explain the ramifications of further violations, up to and including separation from the residence halls, suspension from the CSU system, or expulsion from the CSU system.
We are always seeking applications for Judicial Advocates. If you are interested in becoming a member of the Judicial Advocate Program, please click the link at the bottom of this page entitled Judicial Advocate Application, complete the form, and send it to Charles Alexander, Midtown Student Center 220.

All applications will be reviewed and you will be notified of the next available training session.
If you have any questions regarding this, please contact Charles Alexander at 203.837.8770 or email alexanderc@wcsu.edu

Judicial Advocate Application Form

Here are the judicial advocates for the 2019-2020 academic year:

Rebecca Bavone FH, Room 208 Bavone005@connect.wcsu.edu
Carlos Dos Santos Commuter dossantosjrc@wcsu.edu
Chynna Green GH, Room 119 Green159@connect.wcsu.edu
Alvin Josi Commuter Josi001@wcsu.edu
Jack Hamel

Nyilah Horton

PH, Room D62

GH, Room 105

Hamel015@wcsu.edu, Jackhamel.ant@gmail.com

Horton042@connect.wcsu.edu

Xavier Rosa CH, N302 Rosa070@connect.wcsu.edu
Isaac Shami Commuter Shami002#wcsu.edu, Isaacsha08@gmail.com
Kayla Tubens Commuter Tubens001@connect.wcsu.edu