WCSU Covid-19 Information Fall 2021

Macricostas School of Arts & Sciences

History

History Department Faculty

Department Secretary
Patricia Lerner
224 Warner Hall
(203) 837-8484
email: lernerp@wcsu.edu

Full-time Faculty

Katherine Allocco
(Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin, 2004)
Medieval and Early Modern Europe, Gender and Sexuality, Film
215 Warner Hall
(203) 837-8482
alloccok@wcsu.edu

Jennifer Nugent Duffy
(Ph.D., New York University, 2008)
Modern U.S., Ethnicity, Urban and Suburban History, Irish-American History
202 Warner Hall
(203) 837-3283
duffyj@wcsu.edu

Wynn Gadkar-Wilcox (Co-Chair)
(Ph.D., Cornell University, 2002)
Asia (especially Vietnam and China), Historiography, Intellectual History
221 Warner Hall
(203) 837-8565
wilcoxw@wcsu.edu

Kevin R. C. Gutzman

(Ph.D., University of Virginia, 1999; J.D. University of Texas School of Law, 1990)
American Revolution/Early Republic/Constitutional
222 Warner Hall
(203) 837-8455
gutzmank@wcsu.edu

Leslie Lindenauer
(Ph.D., NYU, 1997)
Early America, Women, History of the Body, Public History, History of Religion
218 Warner Hall
Phone: (203) 837-9046
lindenauerl@wcsu.edu

Martha (Marcy) May
(Ph.D., SUNY Binghamton, 1984)
Modern United States, Women and Gender
220 Warner Hall
Phone: (203) 837-8481
maym@wcsu.edu

Michael E. Nolan
(Ph.D., Brandeis University, 2001)
Modern France and Germany
223 Warner Hall
Phone: (203) 837-8483
nolanm@wcsu.edu

Joshua M. Rosenthal (Co-Chair)
(Ph.D., Columbia University, 2001)
Latin America (especially Colombia)
216 Warner Hall
Phone: (203) 837-8449
rosenthalj@wcsu.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Faculty Emeriti can be reached by contacting the department office at (203) 837-8484.

David Detzer
(PhD, University of Connecticut, 1970)
United States

Kenneth Young
(Ph.D., NYU, 1970)
Burma, Philippines, Southeast Asia, Diplomacy, US Foreign Relations

Part-time Faculty

All part-time faculty members can be reached at: (203) 837-8484.  See the Department Secretary for office locations.

Amy A. Campanaro
(MA, Albany, 2002)
United States
campanaroa@wcsu.edu

George Coleman
(MS, Teacher’s College, Columbia, 1977)
African-American
colemang@wcsu.edu

Stephen T. Flanagan
(MA, Western Connecticut, 1984; MA St. John’s NY, 1996)
United States
flanagans@wcsu.edu

Matthew Glassman
(Ph.D., Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, Yale University, 2019)
glassmanm@wcsu.edu

Danielle King
(BA WCSU 2012, MA WCSU 2019)
Afrikan American Studies: The Black Experience. Writing, Art from the diaspora, Afro-Caribbean Literature
kingd@wcsu.edu

Maryann Rossi
(PhD, St. Louis, 1983; Assistant Dean of Professional Studies)
Early US, material culture, historic preservation
rossim@wcsu.edu

Susann M. Walens
(PhD, Union Institute, 1994)
United States, criminology, oral history
walenss@wcsu.edu